First of all, I want to recognize and congratulate Corey Ybarra for his state qualifying 7th place finish in one of the toughest regional divisions in the state. He did not run his personal best; but the result was a gritty holding onto a top 10 finish, and outright qualifying run. As a sophomore he was achieved every goal he set this season. His intrinsic motivation is incredibly admirable and worth being commended. He will run FRIDAY NOV 4TH in ROUND ROCK TEXAS at the state UIL competition for 2A, at 12:10pm.

Our boys also finish their team season at regionals with the exception of Corey Ybarra. Our boys have had to build and battle this season after losing two huge seniors last year. Younger runners have had to step up and sophomore/juniors have had to truly improve and lead. Corey Ybarra, Ryan Williams, Braden Claburn, Osvaldo Gonzales, Arturo Guerra Kaden Ruiz and Moses Ramirez (the entire roster) improved times from the Lubbock invitational to this week. While we are happy about that our goals are to continue to improve and fight back to the top 10 as a team. 

As a whole, the improvement our teams saw both in mental toughness and physical performance was huge. Today our girls team ended their season, in Milesplit’s ranked top regional division in the state at 16th place. We improved our team time from the invitational meet to now, by 15 seconds and Cameran Ochoa, Claire Bean, Kaidence Tambunga and Mia Rodriguez all improved their performance times. Ysa Esparza and Audrey Upham held the team in the 3 and 5th place runner spots respectively. The girls have demonstrated a high level of grit, resilience and class throughout the season, and while I know todays stings their hearts a little, I also know they will all be tough and come back learning and growing. 

--Coach Taylor and Myers


Cameran Ochoa - 14.14

Claire Bean - 14.22

Ysabella Esparza - 15.37

Mia Rodriguez - 15.51

Audrey Upham - 15.56

Kaidence Tambunga - 16.06

Jaylynn Tijerina - 16.38

--Coach Taylor and Myers


Corey Ybarra - 17.40

Ryan Williams - 20.33

Arturo Guerra - 20.52

Kaden Ruiz - 21.20

Braden Claburn - 21.45

Moses Ramirez - 22.14

Osvaldo Gonzalez - 22.23